Outside the U.S. ? Don't try to upgrade Voice in Gmail
If you're outside the U.S. do not click the upgrade your account button. As you can see, the results are less than thrilling -- you'll lose access to the feature.
Hopefully Google will hide the button from non-U.S. users in the near future, but for now just resist the temptation to click and you should be OK!