Facebook "likejacking" worm tricks you into posting fake "likes"
If you click on an interesting Facebook link and find yourself redirected to a page with nothing but "click here to continue," close that window. You've been suckered by a popular Facebook worm that's spread to a reported 100,000+ users, generating fake "likes" on people's profiles. The fake likes link to those same "click here to continue" pages, perpetuating the cycle. One security firm is calling this new attack "likejacking."According to Mashable, some of the suspicious links include "LOL This girl gets OWNED after a POLICE OFFICER reads her STATUS MESSAGE," "This man takes a picture of himself EVERYDAY for 8 YEARS!!," "The Prom Dress That Got This Girl Suspended From School" and "This Girl Has An Interesting Way Of Eating A Banana, Check It Out!"
I don't know that this clickjacking scheme affects all browsers and operating systems. I clicked on one of the messages on Chrome Mac, and I can't find any fake likes on my Facebook account. Regardless, you should be careful. Security firms haven't identified any ill effects from this worm, other than tricking people into liking stuff they don't, but it does present a new vector for more malicious attacks.












Comments
12
Subscribe to commentsKevin KJun 1st 2010 5:54PM
I poked around one with firebug, and eventually it's supposed to take you to the content but with spammy offerings blocking the way. There is a help page which is hilarious to most of us but could sound reasonable to others: https://adscendmedia.com/gwhelp.php?p=4917 (doesn't seem to be any weird scripting on that page but click at your own risk anyway).
A couple highlights from that page:
"Running a website can be expensive and time consuming, so the website that you want to view has added our gateway as a way to fund the website."
"If you completed one offer and the website did not unlock, completing a second offer will usually work."
Thanks for covering this annoying worm, although I'm afraid for the most part you're preaching to the choir.
5hRreDDyJun 1st 2010 6:31PM
I think I saw one of these. It looked a bit dodgy to me, so I just closed it.
Muffin_manJun 1st 2010 7:11PM
I hovered over one of these to "like" it and when the pop-up didn't appear I looked at the URL which wasn't facebook.
I clicked anyway out of curiosity but WOT stopped me from being silly.
Also my weekly virus scan didn't find anything.
Sebastian AnthonyJun 1st 2010 8:10PM
Sebastian always finds people that talk in third person a little... creepy.
Ryan DowlingJun 1st 2010 8:22PM
They have had these types of pages on Facebook for a long time now. They are a plague to Facebook and so friggen annoying.
Try having your home page feed full of all your friends inviting you and liking all this crap over and over again :\ It is a headache
There is an interesting website I have come across a few times which actually stops the need for you to do anything like click dangerous links or anything, may stop the worm full stop
http://www.bypassfanpages.com
I use the Firefox Addon so I never need to worry about this type of problem again
gidleysJun 2nd 2010 2:41AM
Also, the fabulous fb purity.
http://www.fbpurity.com/
do.ronJun 1st 2010 8:45PM
So there's another 100,000+ people have no common sense. Just add this to every other phishing scams. They really should some analytics on this, who are the morons that still can't learn. We've been talking about phishing scams for the past 10 years, why can't some people connect the dots? Or see that almost EVERY scam comes down to common sense, or lack thereof, and when people just click anything and everything, phishing is super easy.
jeffJun 1st 2010 10:47PM
Wait, people who fall for a scam that preys on lack of common sense aren't getting something? Who would have thought...
do.ronJun 1st 2010 8:49PM
I wish I could edit my comment for spelling.
MaderJun 1st 2010 11:50PM
Nothing new from the ordinary, that's for sure. Should be fixed soon otherwise.
________
Resources and downloads http://downloadsdominion.blogspot.com/
Crome TysnomiGnu32Jun 2nd 2010 10:01AM
This is a good thing.
Honestly? If people like a page because it asks them to, then asks them (in some cases) to press CTRL and C, then ALT and D, then CTRL, V and Enter, then they deserve a wrecked system. This applies to about 90% of my friends, who time and time again have asked me to fix their computers.
I use http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/73878 if I'm really curious about a fan page that offers gory or scandalous pictures. It exposes the fake "TAKE MY SURVEY FIRST/CLICK HERE/etc" pages and, if it's genuine, the shitty not-worth-it-at-all promised pictures.
agrajag9Jun 3rd 2010 12:54PM
I've been tracking these for a few months now and have seen a bunch that lead you to phishing websites asking for information about the user, posing as offers for free gift cards and the like. Most of these sites have been hosted and have their domain names registered to people in eastern Europe.
This is not a particularly new occurrence and it strikes me as odd that this is only just now being talked about.