Web-based BitTorrent monitoring site -- scarily real, or fantastically fake?
A weird, disconcerting site that goes by the ominous name of 'Men in Grey' has just been discovered. It's an open site, but no one quite knows if it's meant to be. Plastered with terms like 'officer', 'authentication' and 'auditor console', the site appears to be a tool that's used to hunt down illegal P2P file sharers. Give it a go -- view the complete report and check the illegal activity on your IP address and subnet. Cool and scary, huh?But it smells... a bit fake. The 'auditor console' looks awfully like the XKCD April Fool, and both are in fact based on the Wordpress CLI theme. There are also your usual batch of fake commands -- try typing words that rhyme with 'duck' and you'll see what I mean. Try typing in an officer name and authorization code too!
Surprisingly, though, the commenters at TorrentFreak seem split. One comment suggests it's installation art by Danja Vasiliev, while quite a few are saying that the results shown by the site are actually real! Perhaps, if you torrent files, you should check if it works for you?
Even if the site turns out to be fake, the concept behind it is definitely real: scanning subnets for BitTorrent activity is trivial. Private trackers have never looked more appealing...













Comments
29
Subscribe to commentsLee MathewsApr 28th 2010 10:00AM
Smells like...uhm...'art' to me. Says someone at my store downloaded Avatar and How to Train Your Dragon, but I know for a fact there are no P2P apps running on any of our systems -- and our wifi is locked up, so there are no squatters either. :)
Eric HApr 28th 2010 10:54AM
I call BS as well, I downloaded a torrent yesterday, legal of course, and it doesn't show up on the list, but a whole bunch of stuff I have never downloaded has.
John DApr 28th 2010 11:07AM
It has the konami code in the source. Smells fake to me.
John DApr 28th 2010 11:09AM
actually, it seems to have a lot of strange data...
http://meningrey.net/%5c/home/mig/civilian/pending/
might be worth looking through - i doubt it's anything official, but it could be used for swapping hacked passwords, etc. an 18MB text doc is pretty huge.
DigiApr 28th 2010 11:17AM
hmmm SCAREY!
http://meningrey.net///home/mig/video/
DigiApr 28th 2010 11:18AM
Couldn't get past security use this.
http://meningrey.net/bt_watch/?host=(YOUR IP)
DigiApr 28th 2010 11:20AM
http://whois.domaintools.com/meningrey.net
AlexandreApr 28th 2010 11:35AM
http://meningrey.net/bt_watch/?host=127.0.0.1
fail.
laeroApr 28th 2010 11:35AM
Chiming in on the bullshit calling. Vampire diaries, come on.
Also, the site is fooled by a simple agent masking, hardly serious.
kriscolumbusApr 28th 2010 11:40AM
It's fake. I've not downloaded anything on the list it gave me.
DigiApr 28th 2010 11:47AM
It only obtains the first page on tracker's lists, and it goes by subnet mask. Surprisingly it has ALOT of official documents. ... http://www.meningrey.net///home/mig/documents/legal/
der_tuxmanApr 28th 2010 1:00PM
BT is dead.
MarkApr 28th 2010 1:19PM
type "man cat" - "You are now riding a half-man half-cat." its definitely based directly on the xkcd april 1st system.
ChaimApr 28th 2010 2:51PM
You gotta be kidding me as fake as they come. Spits out random, Gives a tracert to your IP. The documents that are on the site are ICANN protocol documents. Full of crap
gantderisingApr 28th 2010 3:04PM
lol it's fake. A simple apostrophe pulled up everything:
http://www.meningrey.net/%5C/home/mig/
Vlad ZahariaApr 28th 2010 3:12PM
I think it may actually be a combination of both real and fake data. I think it's real data, with some fake data to make the list look longer.
SonnyjimbaApr 28th 2010 3:31PM
It's fake, if you have a dynamic IP, restart your router, and it'll give you a different list, to me it looks like the most torrented data atm, (new releases etc) shown up all over the place with a lot of crap to make it look real.
SonnyjimbaApr 28th 2010 3:57PM
Yeah, it's from that Danja Vasilev guy, it's hosted in Rotterdam, the video is full of dutch, and there's little giveaways here and there too.
What I think it is, is what life with the internet would be, if all data was constantly monitored and the government always had an eye on you, it's quite worrying actually, with the Digital Economy bill etc.
SonnyjimbaApr 28th 2010 4:04PM
And I know he's Russian ;)
JaminApr 28th 2010 5:28PM
Lol, this is completely fake. Any username and password works and it says I've downloaded a bunch of movies like Kick-Ass and New Moon. I would kill myself before trying to download a Twilight movie.