Hot on HuffPost Tech:

See More Stories
Engadget for the iPhone: download the app now
AOL Tech

Oy gevalt! Google Translate adds 9 new languages, including Yiddish

Google Translate
Google has added 9 new languages to its web-based translation service. That means Google Translate now supports 51 different languages, and 2550 language pairs.

Google Translate already had dozens of widely used languages including English, French, German, Japanse, Chinese, and Russian as well as some more obscure languages. The latest 9 probably fall into the latter category. We're talking, Afrikaans, Belarusian, Icelandic, Irish, Macedonian, Malay, Swahili, Welsh and Yiddish.

Of course, while users can suggest translations and help make the service better, the bulk of the work is still done by machines. And that means that most translations are a bit less than perfect. If I spoke Belarusian or Icelandic I could probably tell you just how imperfect. But if you take an English phrase, translate it first into one language, then translate the resulting phrase into another and then try to convert it to English, you'll likely see what I mean. It's kind of like playing a long game of telephone.

On the other hand, machine translation is still better than no translation, and the latest addition makes it much easier to read foreign newspapers and communicate with people who speak other languages, even if your grammar is going to be a bit off.

Tags: google-translate, yiddish