Hot on HuffPost Tech:

See More Stories
Free Switched iPhone app - try it now!
AOL Tech

Google to Acquire Postini, for added security

google to acquire postiniAnother company prepares to enter the Googleplex, this time it's going to help out Google Apps users with security, archiving and policy enforcement.

The acquisition of Postini announced this morning will help Google deliver their hosted applications to businesses, adding in another level of complex information security for organizations. Postini's solutions include Email Security, IM Security, Web Security, Message Archiving, Message Encryption and Policy Enforcement. With the new deal, Google will provide Organizations high quality communications tools, without the expense of on-site solutions while still maintaining the quality and complex information security mandates organizations demand.

Google put up $625 Million for Postini, who will become a wholly owned subsidiary. The agreement is scheduled to close by the end of the third quarter. Google will host a few conference calls to discuss the acquisition. The first conference call will be held at 6:30 a.m. Pacific Time (9:30 a.m. Eastern Time). The second conference call will be held at 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time (12:00 p.m. Eastern Time). Live audio webcasts of the conference calls will be available at http://investor.google.com/webcast.html.

Tags: encryption, finance, google, google apps, GoogleApps, postini, security

Comments

5