Fishy web site offering Xbox game downloads
PRweb has a cheery article on a website of questionable practices, at least in my mind. The article states that the site gives gamers FREE unlimited access to games, software, albums, music, and movies to download to your XBOX 360. Take one look at the site and you'll see what I mean, it looks like a scam. A site whose URL starts with www.officialmoviedownloads.com doesn't look great to me. The graphics and layout of the site seems to point to "credit-card harvesting operation" in my head. They want a one time fee for unlimited downloads of (no doubt stolen or ripped copies) of all kinds of software. It just seems fishy, don't you think?













Comments
9
Subscribe to commentstygernSep 21st 2006 7:54PM
Why was this posted? Everyone knows there are tons of scam sites out there. You might as well have made a post about a free iPod site.
Lupus YonderboiSep 21st 2006 7:54PM
seems legit to me....hahahaha.
SimonSep 21st 2006 7:54PM
I think the first comment said everything that needs saying about this post. This is noise I could do without in my feed reader.
The TickSep 21st 2006 7:46PM
Slow news day?
Ryan CarterSep 21st 2006 8:08PM
It isn't very often that one of these fishy sites makes "news", especially on a legitimate marketing site that has a decent sized readership. On the *off chance* anyone who saw it thought it looked good, I wanted to put something out there just in case. Thanks for the feedback.
The RoosterSep 21st 2006 8:40PM
Actually, I do think it is worth mentioning. Everyday I speack to people that get sucked in by some damn scam. As you have written - it is fishy to us, but to others it doesn't look that way. I think it encouages people to *think* before they access these services that seem legit. This type of post says look here - this is something to be careful of. I am not against that. Remember that not everyone that reads this is a geek or knowlegable in these things. If it stops one person going there - Job done.
iNNeR_KaoSSep 21st 2006 8:46PM
PS2 Controllers...
I know they have PS2 on the screen, but if you're going to take the colors and names of the console, you could at least use pictures of the console being used, not a PS2.
I'm tired...
emmzeeSep 22nd 2006 7:41PM
These sites are just fronts to charge people for P2P clients ... probably they just created a P2P client (or modified an open source one) and are charging people to download it and/or subscription fee to access it. Probably uses the GNUtella network.
RAySep 23rd 2006 5:04PM
I think that is one of the dumbest things I have ever heard. The site looks to me like it's a one stop shop to a lot of very good movie download sites. Maybe you should look again. You are treading on dangerous area when you let out slander like that.